Carson Mounds Archaeological Field School 2014

Hey All,   I’ll write a lot more soon,  but I thought I’d post pictures of some initial GPR (ground penetrating radar) work at Carson, for the 2014 season, as well as pictures of where my students and I will be staying this summer.  The kind folks at Seven Chimneys have rented their farm and facilities to us for the next few weeks – I highly recommend this place for a weekend, or much longer, vacation.  This post is rushed because I’m trying to hit the hay before 2 am, so more soon, but sleep for now.

The Loyola picture was taken the night before I left for Clarksdale,

Loyola College at night.

Loyola College at night.

Our lab space

Our lab space

stairs into the upper part of the barn

stairs into the upper part of the barn

looking out the window at the barn

looking out the window of the barn

lab space

lab space

Bryan Haley getting the GPR ready

Bryan Haley getting the GPR ready

the barn and outdoor seating area

the barn and outdoor seating area

farm pic

farm pic

some of the student cabins

some of the student cabins

beautiful tree

beautiful tree

our pool this summer

our pool this summer

the barn, and my truck

the barn, and my truck

listing to blues at Hambone, Clarksdale, MS

listening to the blues at Hambone, Clarksdale, MS. Charlie Musselwhite showed up eventually.  

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

