Traveling in Mexico, continued…

The setting sun at Tepeji

The setting sun at Tesoro

Ok Yall,  its been a while and Haley and I have been doing some traveling since I last wrote.  This post is not really going to follow us chronologically over the past week, but really just the order in which I posted these pictures.  Last time I wrote,  we had visited the Templo Mayor and returned to Tula.  We hung around the city for a bit and had the necessary meetings and hand shakes with a variety of people,  but it actually took us about another week to get out into the field.  Today was our first real day doing any work,  and after a great meeting with the land owners, we set up some collection grids and began exploring the archaeological site.  Just check out the picture below,  sunset at Tepeji is just about the most amazing thing I’ve seen.  Well,  the sunset at Natchez over the Mississippi is also pretty damn awesome.

Still sets in the west at Tepeji del Rio, Zapotec enclave north of Teotihuacan

The sun still sets in the west at Tepeji del Rio, Zapotec enclave north of Teotihuacan

Haley has an armload full of loot,  just 2 hours of surface collecting...

Haley has an armload full of loot, just 2 hours of surface collecting…

This was my aweful attempt at stitching together some pics from the Tepeji hilltop

This was my awful attempt at stitching together some pics from the el Tesoro hilltop

The panorama above really could have been great – it was getting so dark in front of us as the sun was setting, but behind us, it was still daytime.  Oh well,  I’m sure I’ll have at least a few more long days at Tesoro before I’m done.

A better panorama!

A better panorama!

So this is how you use a total station....

So this is how you use a total station….

Ok, this looks a bit better!

Ok, this looks a bit better!

This past weekend,  Haley and I went to go visit Guanajuato,  which is an old silver mining town about 3 hours from Tula.  This place is amazing!!  They’ve claimed themselves as the Don Quijote capital of North America,  and they really did have some amazing statues of DQ.  It was really nice getting out of sleepy old Tula.  Guanajuato has a great art academy and is full of young people.  The streets are incredibly tiny and they wind around in the most confusing ways possible.  We drove there from Tula and once I got into the city,  I was promptly just about as lost as I’ve ever been.  I’ve driven in Mexico City, and I wouldnt bother with Guanajuato.  Overall, I loved the city, we visited some great bars, met some cool folks,  and I definitely got to know Central Mexico a little bit better.  I also shouldn’t forget the relevance of the city to Mexico’s independence – they have a great statue of El Pipila, who was a revolutionary fighter during Mexico’s war for independence from Spain.

don Quijote

don Quijote

Looking out on the town of Guanajuato,  a old silver mining town from the days of the Spanish empire.

Looking out on the town of Guanajuato, a old silver mining town from the days of the Spanish empire.

Guanajuato is the most vertical city, other than Toledo, Spain, that I have ever seen, Tunnels and what not all over the place

Guanajuato is the most vertical city, other than Toledo, Spain, that I have ever seen, Tunnels and what not all over the place.  If you’re not careful,  you’ll end up underground and totally lost!

Just a nice pic from the plaza de la paz, Guanajuato, Mexico

Just a nice pic from the plaza de la paz, Guanajuato, Mexico

Teatro Juarez, La Gardin, Guanajuato, Mexico

Teatro Juarez, La Gardin, Guanajuato, Mexico

Ok.  So I went to Teotihuacan.  I am so blown away by this site!  I’m willing to explain myself at another time,  but compared to all the other Maya sites I’ve seen,  Teotihuacan seemed almost industrial in scale.  So many of the buildings seemed exactly the same,  they were almost clones of each other (of course, the site has been reconstructed in modern times).   To me,  the site almost seemed mechanical compared to the organic chaos of the Maya sites.  But this is all based on one days impressions,  so don’t take my word for it.  All that aside,  the Pyramid of the Sun is pretty much a man-made mountain,  we could see it from the road when we were miles away still.  Knowing what I know,  whatever training I’ve had,  and I’m at a loss – how on earth did they make such an amazing monument!!

So this is Teotihuacan,  looking down from the Pyramid of the Moon,  the Street of the Dead in the background.

So this is Teotihuacan, looking down from the Pyramid of the Moon, the Street of the Dead in the background.

Another panorama from the top of the Pyramid of the Moon, Teotihucan

Another panorama from the top of the Pyramid of the Moon, Teotihucan

And here we are, the Pyramid of the Sun, Teotihuacan, wow!

And here we are, the Pyramid of the Sun, Teotihuacan, wow!

temple of the feathered serpent, Teotihucan

temple of the feathered serpent, Teotihucan

Anyways,  I have much more to say about our travels,  but I cant write more now.  I hope ya’ll out in the States are doing well,  stay in touch, and I see ya’ll soon!

Getting the GPS going at Tepeji del Rio, Zapotec enclave north of Teotihuacan

Getting the GPS going at Tepeji del Rio, Zapotec enclave north of Teotihuacan

Leave a comment

Filed under Academic Ramblings, Observations

Leave a Reply

